This is the "Find an article or journal" page of the "Graduate Student Library Guide" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Graduate Student Library Guide   Tags: graduate, masters, sciences po, thesis, tutorials  

Last Updated: Aug 16, 2017 URL: http://aup.libguides.com/content.php?pid=358553 Print Guide RSS Updates

Find an article or journal Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Articles and Journals at AUP

One Search

Use One Search a federated search engine that searches most of our databases at the same time.  It searches EBSCO databases (Academic Search Complete, Communications and Mass Media Complete,  Film & Television Index with Full Text, GreenFile, IPSA, MasterFile Premier, Regional Business News and OnmiFile Full Text Select (Wilson)).  It also searches these non-EBSCO databases - ebrary, Gale Virtual Reference Library, JSTOR, Literature Criticism Online, Oxford Art Online, Project MUSE and the library catalog.

By using One Search you can search many databases at one time.  The results are not ALL of the results available through these databases, but the ones that the search engine has decided are most relevant.  To the right of the search results (over the list of databases) you will see the word 'Details'.  Put your cursor over the yellow 'balloon' to the right of the word Details and you will see the TOTAL number of results from EACH database.  This may lead you to see that one database has much more on your topic than another.  You should go to that database and try searching it directly.

One Search will not normally be the 'last place' you search, but the first step in searching when you aren't quite sure where to search or when you want to see an overview of what most of our databases have.  This not only searches the databases which contain articles but also full text books.  You can limit (on the left side of the search results) to 'Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals' or click 'Show More' underneath the date area and click 'ARTICLE' as document type.

 

Finding Articles at AUP

This handout will take you through steps to finding an article, including how to use SUDOC, what information you might need to find the article and what topics are included in particular databases. 

Find an Article or Journal

While journals cannot be checked out of the library, articles can be scanned or photocopied.  Many of the library's journals are online and may be accessed from home or campus - use your NetID (that you use to sign onto any campus computer) and you have access to all databases, ebooks and ejournals that you do in the library.

Don't hesitate to ask the library staff for help or fill out the Research Help form

Subject Guide

Profile Image
AUP Librarians
Contact Info
Jorge Sosa
Laurence Amoureux
Sally Murray
Michael Stoepel
01 40 62 05 61
Send Email

Suggest Links

 

Give us your Feedback

Was this information helpful?

How useful is this page?
(1 = Not Useful, 5 = Very Useful!)

Additional comments:


Your Email:



AUP Library Homepage     AUP Library Guides            AUP Home          AUP Blackboard          MyAUP          AUP Writing Lab

AUP Databases     Browse Journal Titles     Ebooks and Reference     AUP Library Hours     Find Books in Other Libraries    

Library Staff     Ask for Research Help    

The American University of Paris Library | 9, rue de Monttessuy | 75007 Paris, France | tel. 01 40 62 05 61



Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip