ebrary Academic Complete - Detailed HELP
This is the "Reference eBooks" page of the "Ebooks" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Ebooks   Tags: ebooks, online books, reference  

This guide lists our ebook collections and individual ebooks we have collected. It also points to sites that have free ebooks available online.
Last Updated: Mar 7, 2017 URL: http://aup.libguides.com/ebooks Print Guide RSS Updates

Reference eBooks Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Background/Reference Collections

Cover Art
Credo Literati
Over 600 Reference Titles searchable at once. There are also tutorials, videos, and subject guides to different topics of interest!

Cover Art
Oxford Reference Online
Over 200 online reference titles available to search at one time. Excellent authority. "Subjects from Art to Zoology"

Cover Art
Gale Virtual Reference - Various Titles
Over 70 titles ordered by AUP for our curriculum. Variety of subjects - art, business, environment, history, literature, politics, social sciences and more.

 

Individual Reference Ebooks

Cover Art
Benezit Dictionary of Artists - Emmanuel Bénézit (Contribution by)
ISBN: 9780199773787
Publication Date: 2006-03-01

Cover Art
Oxford Art Online
ISBN: 0198662033
Includes full text of Grove Art Online, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms.

There are many images included from Bridgeman, ARTstor, the British Museum, the Museum of Modern Art, the Metropolitan Museum of Art and more.

Each listing for an artist has an article (with bibliography), images and related content. Many of the images point to images from museums on the internet.


Cover Art
Political Handbook of the World 2014 - Tom Lansford
ISBN: 1483333280
".. the updated 2014 Edition is the most authoritative source for finding complete facts and analysis on each country's governmental and political makeup. Featuring more than 200 entries on countries and territories throughout the world... extensive coverage of all major and minor political parties and groups in each political system. ...names of key ambassadors and international memberships of each country, plus detailed profiles of more than 30 intergovernmental organizations and UN agencies. ... include coverage of current events, issues, crises, and controversies".

Cover Art
Europa World Plus
ISBN: 1857437519
Europa World Plus is the online version of the Europa World Year Book and the nine-volume Europa Regional Surveys of the World series. First published in 1926, the year book is renowned as one of the world's leading reference works, covering political and economic information in more than 250 countries and territories.

Cover Art
SIPRI Yearbook - Stockholm International Peace Research Institute Staff
ISBN: 9780198712596
"SIPRI is an independent international institute dedicated to research into conflict, armaments, arms control and disarmament. The institute was established in 1966, and provides data, analysis and recommendations, based on open sources, to policymakers, researchers, media and the interested public" http://www.sipriyearbook.org/

***CREATE LOGIN TO GET FULL TEXT***


 

Individual Reference Ebooks

Cover Art
AP Stylebook
"The AP Stylebook is a writing style guide for journalists. It is published and updated annually to reflect changes in writing style and new guidelines.

Updated regularly since its initial publication in 1953, the AP Stylebook is a must-have reference for writers, editors, students and professionals. It provides fundamental guidelines for spelling, language, punctuation, usage and journalistic style. It is the definitive resource for journalists."


Cover Art
The Encyclopedia of Housing, Second Edition - Andrew T. Carswell (Editor)
ISBN: 9781412989572
Publication Date: 2012-06-13
"This authoritative resource brings into focus the many important connections among the different disciplines in the field of housing - planning, architecture, social sciences, environmental design, business law and others. The Encyclopedia of Housing assists in the conceptualization of housing problems and outlines methods for studying and resolving them. - See more at: http://www.buffalolib.org/vufind/Record/1144228/Reviews#sthash.TbNdEBun.dpuf"

Cover Art
Grand Corpus des dictionnaires
"Grand Corpus des dictionnaires [du 9e au 20e siècle]
• Frédéric Godefroy, Dictionnaire de l'ancienne langue française et de tous ses dialectes du 9e au 15e siècle
• La Curne de Sainte-Palaye, Dictionnaire historique de l'ancien langage français depuis son origine jusqu'au siècle de Louis XIV
• Edmond Huguet, Dictionnaire de la langue française du 16e siècle
• Dictionnaires des 16e et 17e siècles
• Richelet, Dictionnaire françois
• Furetière, Dictionaire Universel
Corpus des dictionnaires de l'Académie française [du 17e au 20e siècle]" http://www.classiques-garnier.com/numerique-bases/index.php?module=ChoixCollection&action=ChoixCollection

Cover Art
Grand Robert de la Langue Francaise
ISBN: 2850366730
Authoritative source for French language.
"One of the most important dictionaries of the French language, compiled on historical principles and giving comprehensive coverage of French from the 15th century to the present... with etymology, pronunciation, analogies, synonyms and antonyms, and the history of each word’s development. Quotations with precise sources, and cross-references to other words." (JHU)

Cover Art
The New Palgrave Dictionary of Economics - Steven N. Durlauf; Lawrence E. Blume
ISBN: 9780333786765
Publication Date: 2008-05-15
The online Dictionary is a dynamic resource for economists which contains full text of 2008 print edition and full text of the 1987 Archive edition.

Cover Art
Brill's New Pauly - Antiquity - Hubert Cancik (Editor); Helmuth Schneider (Editor)
ISBN: 9789004142169
"The section on Antiquity of Brill´s New Pauly are devoted to Greco-Roman antiquity and cover more than two thousand years of history, ranging from the second millennium BC to early medieval Europe."

Cover Art
The Oxford Classical Dictionary - Simon Hornblower (Editor); Antony Spawforth (Editor); Esther Eidinow
ISBN: 9780199545568
Publication Date: 2012-05-04
Completely revised and updated, the fourth edition of this established dictionary offers entries on all aspects of the classical world. With reception and anthropology as new focus areas and numerous new entries, it is an essential reference work for students, scholars, and teachers of classics and for anyone with an interest in the classical era


Cover Art
The SAGE Encyclopedia of Terrorism - C. (Clarence) Augustus (Gus) Martin (Editor)
ISBN: 9781412980166
Publication Date: 2011-06-15
"Explores the impact of terrorism on economics, public health, religion, and even pop culture. Ethical issues such as the role of torture in interrogations, competing notions of security versus liberty, and the debates over FISA legislation and Guantanamo Bay are covered."

Subject Guide

Profile Image
AUP Librarians
Contact Info
Jorge Sosa
Laurence Amoureux
Sally Murray
Michael Stoepel
01 40 62 05 61
Send Email

Suggest Links

 

Give us your Feedback

Was this information helpful?

How useful is this page?
(1 = Not Useful, 5 = Very Useful!)

Additional comments:


Your Email:



AUP Library Homepage     AUP Library Guides            AUP Home          AUP Blackboard          MyAUP          AUP Writing Lab

AUP Databases     Browse Journal Titles     Ebooks and Reference     AUP Library Hours     Find Books in Other Libraries    

Library Staff     Ask for Research Help    

The American University of Paris Library | 9, rue de Monttessuy | 75007 Paris, France | tel. 01 40 62 05 61



Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip