This is the "Details of One Search Screen" page of the "Hints for using One Search" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Hints for using One Search  

Searching across multiple databases
Last Updated: Apr 8, 2013 URL: http://aup.libguides.com/content.php?pid=373403 Print Guide RSS Updates

Details of One Search Screen Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

One Search

This is an example of a search result from a 'One Search', an explanation of the screen and some ideas on how to use it to the best advantage.  

Next to the number 1 - You can limit your searches to full text, scholarly (peer reviewed), particular dates, images and more.  If you click on the 'show more' button you will get special limiters you can use for CERTAIN RESULTS within certain databases.  Each database has its own capabilities (for example on may let you limit to a particular language and another may let you limit to whether or not you want a book, article, conference paper).

Next to the number 2 - You can see what databases were searched successfully in this search.  If you see a yellow triangle with an exclamation point (next to ebrary in the image above) then the search engine did NOT search that database successfully.  

Next to the number 3 - Next to the word 'Details' there is a yellow 'text box'.  Put your cursor over this box to see how many search results each database actually found.  You will see that there were 304 results shown (look near the top of the left column).  There were actually 72,644 results and the software chose the ones it thinks match your search the best.  

One Search is especially helpful in pointing you to the databases that have the most articles on your topics when you don't know where to search.  Put your cursor over the 'Details' text box and look at the list of databases (see below for an example).  You will see that JSTOR actually had over 66,000 hits!  Way more than the others and therefore is probably a good database to go to directly to search and take advantage of limiters, etc. that the particular database has to offer.

Next to the number 4 - Some articles and books will be fulltext and directly available through One Search.  Others you will have to use the "Find it @ AUP" link to go through our catalog.

Don't hesitate to come to the library to ask for help or to ask for Research Help from the librarians.  We will be glad to help you find material for your research papers, projects and help you figure out how to use the library resources and even the web!  We can help you find scholarly information for your research at AUP.

Subject Guide

Profile Image
AUP Librarians
Contact Info
Jorge Sosa
Laurence Amoureux
Sally Murray
Michael Stoepel
01 40 62 05 61
Send Email

Suggest Links

 

Give us your Feedback

Was this information helpful?

How useful is this page?
(1 = Not Useful, 5 = Very Useful!)

Additional comments:


Your Email:



AUP Library Homepage     AUP Library Guides            AUP Home          AUP Blackboard          MyAUP          AUP Writing Lab

AUP Databases     Browse Journal Titles     Ebooks and Reference     AUP Library Hours     Find Books in Other Libraries    

Library Staff     Ask for Research Help    

The American University of Paris Library | 9, rue de Monttessuy | 75007 Paris, France | tel. 01 40 62 05 61



Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip